Aesop’s Fables

ISBN: 9781851245376
Artist(s): Agnes Miller Parker
Author(s): Aesop
Format: hardback
Year published: 6 Nov 2020
Publisher: Bodleian Library
Publisher Location: Oxford
Total Pages: 208
Illustrations: 35 black and white illustrations


1 available

For 25 centuries, the animal stories which go by the name of Aesop’s Fables have amused and instructed generations of children and adults alike. They are still as fresh and poignant today as they were to the ancient Greeks who composed them. This beautifully illustrated edition contains some of the best-loved fables, including the Boy who cried Wolf, the Lion and the Mouse, the Goose that Laid the Golden Egg, the Hare and the Tortoise, and The Town Mouse and the Country Mouse alongside many of the lesser-known tales.

These timeless stories are illustrated with 35 wood engravings by Agnes Miller Parker (1895-1980), one of the greatest British wood engraving artists of the twentieth century. Parker was influenced by the art of Wyndham Lewis and the Cubist and Vorticist movements which flourished in the period between the wars. Her distinctive work is strikingly stylised and deceptively simple.

Commissioned in the 1930s by the fine press publisher, Gregynog Press, for their edition of the work, these exquisite wood engravings inspired by the fables are among Parker’s finest.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Aesop’s Fables”

You may also like…