Jem Southam: Four Winters


ISBN: 9781913288259
Artist(s): Jem Southam
Format: hardback
Edition: First Edition
Year published: 2022
Publisher: Stanley Barker
Publisher Location: London
Total Pages: 124

For the past four winters the English artist Jem Southam has repeatedly visited a short stretch of riverbank along the floodplain of the River Exe. He stands and watches, as the dusk fades into darkness or as the light of dawn gathers, witnessing the different passage of each winter. In the evenings, long past sunset, swans, geese and ducks arrive on the river to spend the night in safety. In the mornings the birds wake, preen, feed and socialise as they prepare for the new day. These periods of subtle drama have played out continuously for millennia, as the world spins and each new day dawns the spectacle repeats itself. However, it is endlessly varied, and in the photographs in this book, Jem Southam notates and narrates the subtle shifts and dramas of the theatrical space around him.

Categories: ,


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Jem Southam: Four Winters”

You may also like…