The Other Tradition of Modern Architecture


ISBN: 1854904124
Author(s): Colin St John Wilson
Format: paperback
Year published: 1995
Publisher: Academy Editions
Publisher Location: London
Total Pages: 128
Illustrations: Illustrated in black and white throughout

4 available

In the whole history of architecture there was never a period of such vitality, range of invention and generosity of spirit as that which followed the peace in 1918. With the foundation of the International Congress of Modern Architecture (CIAM) ten years later, this jolting energy was reduced to Le Corbusier’s theory based on the technology of industrialised mass-production. At that moment a resistance movement against the CIAM developed. By examining the work of Hugo Haering, Hans Scharoun, Alvar Aallo, Gunnar Asplund, Giancarlo de Carlo, Aldo van Eyck, Eileen Gray, R.M. Schindler and Frank Lloyd Wright, Colin St John Wilson identifies this common strand of opposition to the CIAM movement and a body of work across the world which now demands proper recognition as the other tradition.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Other Tradition of Modern Architecture”

You may also like…